Tex tops the votes

DARWIN, AUSTRALIA – JULY 15: Taylor Walker of the Crows speaks with his players during the 2017 AFL round 17 match between the Melbourne Demons and the Adelaide Crows at TIO Stadium on July 15, 2017 in Darwin, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)

For the second straight week, Adelaide captain Taylor Walker has polled nine votes from the coaches.

Walker was judged the best player on the ground in his team’s 46-point win over Melbourne in Darwin.

The imposing forward kicked four goals and assisted in two more with 21 disposals. He also took eight marks to earn nine votes from coaches Don Pyke and Simon Goodwin.

Tom Lynch’s remarkable return was recognised with eight votes. Lynch gathered 27 disposals, three goals, two goal assists and a game-high 11 marks.

Defender Rory Laird continued his strong vote-polling form with six.

Laird was the leading possession-getter on the ground with 34. The creative backman also generated a game-high nine rebound 50ms.

After combining for 50-plus disposals for the 12th time this season, Brad and Matt Crouch both received votes. Brad attracted four votes after amassing 27 possessions, seven tackles, five clearances and a goal.

Matt, who finished with 31 touches and five clearances, was awarded two votes.

Wingman David Mackay (one) rounded out the voting. Mackay kicked two goals from 21 disposals.

Six players earned maximum votes in Round 17. Reigning Brownlow Medallist polled a perfect 10 to consolidate his spot at the top of the leaderboard in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year award.

Richmond star Dustin Martin received nine votes to keep within striking distance of Dangerfield in second spot overall.

West Coast captain Shannon Hurn, Essendon midfielder Zach Merrett, Port Adelaide utility Chad Wingard, Sydney Swans match winner Lance Franklin and Collingwood onballer Steele Sidebottom all earned 10 votes.

Co-captain Rory Sloane remains the highest-ranked Crow in 10th place with 53 votes.

Adelaide v Melbourne
9 – Taylor Walker (Adel)
8 – Tom Lynch (Adel)
6 – Rory Laird (Adel)
4 – Brad Crouch (Adel)
2 – Matt Crouch (Adel)
1 – David Mackay (Adel)

Crows Leaderboard
53 – Rory Sloane
39 – Rory Laird
37 – Taylor Walker
29 – Matt Crouch
25 – Jake Lever
21 – Tom Lynch
19 – Sam Jacobs
18 – Brad Crouch
16 – Eddie Betts
14 – Brad Crouch
12 – Charlie Cameron
12 – Richard Douglas
12 – Brodie Smith
11 – Rory Atkins
5 – Josh Jenkins
2 – Luke Brown
2 – Kyle Hartigan
2 – Josh Jenkins
1 – Jake Kelly
1 – David Mackay

Round 16 Leaderboard
91 – Patrick Dangerfield (Geel)
82 – Dustin Martin (Rich)
62 – Tom Mitchell (Haw)
61 – Gary Ablett (GC)
59 – Joel Selwood (Geel)
58 – Zach Merrett (Ess)
58 – Sebastian Ross (StK)
57 – Elliot Yeo (WC)
57 – Dayne Zorko (Bris)
53 – Rory Sloane (Adel)

Source: Adelaide Crows website

Adelaide Crows
About Adelaide Crows 1252 Articles
Adelaide Crows

Ladbrokes $500 AFL Bonus Bet

Willaim Hill $502 AFL Bonus Bet!

Luxbet AFL Bonus Bet