AFL Competitions

The Australian Football League is a competition that brings the sporting culture of Australia alive in great spirits. Originally, the league was called the Victorian Football League which was established in 1897. Then it was only made up of teams based in Victoria, but eventually started expanding to other states in the 1980s. The South Melbourne Football Club was the first to move interstate, becoming the Sydney Swans in 1982.

The official name change went through in 1990 to the Australian Football League. Currently the league is made up of 18 teams which are spread across Australia’s 6 states except for Tasmania, however, games are still played at stadiums here.

The AFL season starts in March and runs through until September, with a shorter pre-season before the official kick off.

List of AFL Competitions

Click on a listed event for more information on the competition.

In 2017, history was made in the pre-season with the inaugural AFL Women’s league playing for the first time on the same competitive scale as the men. The AFL also invest in multiculturalism and Indigenous Australia, with many programs in place to raise awareness of equality and breaking down racial barriers.

In 2011 and 2012, two new teams were added to the league, with another team to represent the Greater Western Sydney and Canberra area and the Gold Coast. The Greater Western Sydney Giants and the Gold Coast Suns have since been establishing themselves in the league.

The majority of clubs, that being 10, are still based in Victoria, but the sport is definitely one that is loved on a national scale.


Ladbrokes $500 AFL Bonus Bet

Willaim Hill $502 AFL Bonus Bet!

Luxbet AFL Bonus Bet